Playlist: The Best Of St. Vincent

Image

Continuing with the tradition, to finish out the week I thought I would put together a playlist of some of my favorite St. Vincent songs. As I mentioned before, I almost feel bad that I didn’t discover her music sooner.  The first album of hers that I really got into was Strange Mercy from 2011.  She had released two albums before that, Marry Me and Actor, but even though people had told me about the music of Annie Clark, I hadn’t really checked it out.  In 2012, she released Love This Giant with David Byrne and this year saw the release of the self-titled St. Vincent.

Personally, and maybe because I have listened to her newer albums the most, that’s the material that really grabs me, but there are definitely standout tracks on all of them.  As with the Beck playlist I created a couple of weeks ago, this really is what I consider a “best of”… as of today… a playlist that could be completely different depending on which day I make it, and what songs I’m enjoying at the time. And, as with the other playlists I’ve been posting, I’ve been trying to limit myself to just around an hour’s worth of music for each one.  If you follow this playlist on Spotify, I might make changes to it on occasion.

But for right now, this is what I consider The Best of St. Vincent

1. Who (w/ David Byrne)
2. Jesus Saves, I Spend
3. Prince Johnny
4. Cruel
5. Laughing With A Mouth Of Blood
6. Marry Me
7. Birth In Reverse
8. Surgeon
9. Your Lips Are Red
10. Save Me From What I Want
11. Cheerleader
12. Actor Out Of Work
13. Strange Mercy
14. Digital Witness
15. Year Of The Tiger
16. Severed Crossed Fingers
17. What Me Worry?

 

What are your favorite St. Vincent songs? Let me know in the comments, on Twitter, or on our Facebook page.  Follow me on Spotify for even more playlists!

Leave a Reply

