Top 100 Songs Of The Decade: “Computer Camp Love” – Datarock

“Computer Camp Love”
by Datarock (2005)

Before my wife and I moved in to our current apartment, we used to watch the MTV spin-off station MTVU on our old cable system.  We no longer have access to it on Directv, but they always played the latest videos in “college friendly” genres, and especially indie rock.  I think this was the first place I ever saw anything by the band Datarock, the video for their track “Fa-Fa-Fa.”

Once I eventually picked up their debut CD, Datarock Datarock, another one of their songs would ultimately become my favorite.  “Computer Camp Love” is just what it sounds like, a love song written about a romance at c0mputer camp, and probably the nerdiest Norwegian pop you will ever hear.  And I didn’t even realize it until researching this article, but the song is loosely based on the plot of 1984’s Revenge Of The Nerds.   I guess you learn something new every day!

One comment

  1. Did this one say Miss Judy…was that the girl’s name? LOL. Wow!!! Yes, Gilbert was Anthony Edwards’ name in Revenge Of the Nerds, too. Cute video. Neat song!!

Leave a Reply

